Post-it

E’claire has been sitting here patiently waiting for me to fill her cyber pages for nearly a month! There is no time like the present, so here we go!

Note: I am still working out the “kinks” and layout/design features, so please bare with me!

I suppose I will just jump right in and blog about the recipe that I hope to make this weekend for Easter: carrot cake. If you know me on a personal level, I have probably told you on more than one occasion of my affinity with carrot cake. In fact, it does not even have to be cake; I do not discriminate against carrot muffins, carrot loaves, carrot bars, or carrot scones for that matter. Pumpkin lattes? I’ll never, ever turn one down. Now that you are up-to-speed on my love for carrots (giggle if you know I am a natural “ginger” and think this is the reason I love carrots), let me take you through the preliminary ideas I have for this said cake.

Easter Carrot Cake

My love for cooking and baking does not come from a love of eating the final product most times. Do not get me wrong, I love my recipes, but more times than not, creating an artistic component is what excites me most. Just like fashion, cooking and baking can have a style all their own. I am fairly new to plating and presentation, but could get lost on Pinterest for hours looking at recipes, visualizing how they would look on my plates, and dreaming of taking pictures of them (it’s ok to judge me, yes).

Naturally, when making a carrot cake came to mind, I immediately pictured cute little carrots made of frosting, spring flowers, and frostings made of bright oranges, yellows and a touch of purple just because it happens to be my favorite color, duh. Here are a few pieces of inspiration from Pinterest:

Carrot Cake Bars from Cooking Classy

Source

diy carrot cake toppers

Source

Paula Deen Grandma Hiers' Carrot Cake

Source

And for a few laughs…

The cutest carrot cake

Source

Hopefully I can think of something creative like these cute cakes/cupcakes! If you have any ideas, I would love to hear them, or if you have made a carrot cake that was awesome in the past, I would love to know the recipe!

For now, I will be dreaming of my creative carroty concoction!

E’claire

i'd love to leave a note...

