Napa Weekend

For my birthday this year, Cole decided that he wanted to do a combined birthday/Christmas present. At my birthday dinner, he surprised me and told me that we would be going to Walla Walla (Eastern Washington) to do a wine tasting and getaway weekend. I couldn’t have been more excited! I had never done a wine tasting before, and was very excited to see what was in store. I’ve heard great things about Eastern Washington, and have only been once or twice.

So…as I was packing for the trip I was told to bring warmer weather clothes…which was totally not a giveaway as Eastern Washington had been up in the 70’s. Then…the night before the weekend trip Cole surprised me and told me that we weren’t going to Walla Walla anymore, but we were actually going to Napa, California! He proceeded to pull an itinerary out of his jacket, and I swear I must have lifted off the ground out of sheer excitement! I have been living on the west coast for nearly two years, and still hadn’t been to California. This surprise was the one to top all other surprises I’ve ever had. The trip was phenomenal, and he had everything planned to the very last detail. I’ll let the pictures do the talking…

claire and cole cade

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

For someone who is entirely used to drinking $10.00 bottles of wine from Trader Joe’s, this wine-tasting trip completely pleased the senses. From the warmer climate, beautiful scenery, and alone-time with Cole, it was just perfect…and the wine just the bonus. In case you’re planning a trip to Napa anytime soon, we stopped at Cade and Tamber Bay wineries and highly recommend both. Both were exceptionally relaxing and personable.

Of course, I won’t be going to Napa on a regular basis but I do hope to go again for another special date in the future. 🙂

Claire

2 thoughts on “Napa Weekend

i'd love to leave a note...

